In the days of Texas lawmakers arguing over who gets to use what bathroom, there has been a bill introduced int the Texas House that would decriminalize small amounts of marijuana.

The "small amount" would be considered as less than an ounce. A House Committee voted in favor of House Bill 63 last week and has Governor Greg Abbott's approval. If it passes, those found with less than an ounce of marijuana would be fined $250 for the first two offenses, then a third would make it a Class C misdemeanor.

Does this mean, weed stores will soon be opening in the Lone Star state? No. But it would be the first step in softening the state's enforcement of marijuana laws.

If this bill passes and you get caught with less than an ounce, will you be arrested? No, but you will lose your weed and it will be destroyed. Just like when the police made you pour your beer out. You will be entered into a statewide database, that will keep track of you. After your third encounter with the police, you will be written a ticket. If you don't pay the fines associated with, you could be arrested at that point for failure to pay, but not for the possession

What if you have over an ounce? Same as it ever was, You will be arrested and lose your weed, man.

Again nothing has happened other than a bill being introduced. If you get caught today, with ANY amount of marijuana, Texas still considers it a Class B misdemeanor. You'll be arrested and could be subject to up to 180 days in jail and a two thousand dollar fine.

What do think about this? Let us know in the comments below!

More From 98.7 The Bomb